Friday, April 9, 2010

West Papua

Formerly called Irian Jaya Barat
Data and Statistics

Paradisaea minor. Photo: flickr

West Papua is a province of the 31 established under Law No. 45 of 1999. West Papua province in charge of 8 districts and 1k ota. On February 6, 2007 made a declaration of change of name of the province of West Irian Jaya to West Papua.

These provinces covering an area of the bird's head and the Papua New Guinea island around him. In the north, the province is bordered by the Pacific Ocean, the western border with the province of North Maluku and Maluku provinces, the eastern part limited by Cenderawasih, south of the Seram Sea and the southeastern border with Papua province.

This province has a tremendous potential, whether it is agriculture, mining, forest products and tourism. Pearl and seaweed produced in Raja Ampat regency while only traditional industries called ikat cloth produced in the district of East South. Sirup Sorong fragrant nutmeg can be found in Fak-Fak regency as well as various other potentials.

In addition, nature tourism is also one mainstay of West Irian Jaya, as Cenderawasih National Park is located in the Gulf Wondama district. National Park stretches from the eastern peninsula to the north island Kwatisore Rumberpon length 500 km coastline, vast reaches 68,200 ha of land, the sea area of 1,385,300 hectares with 80,000 hectares details coral reef areas and 12,400 ha of sea.

Besides, recently, discovered a cave which claimed as the world's deepest cave by a French expedition in the region speleology Lina Mountains, Village Irameba, Anggi district, Manokwari District. This cave is estimated at 2000 meters depth. Mountainous area of West Papua still keep the mystery of natural wealth that need light.

Saturday, February 13, 2010

White cockatoo

White cockatoo is endemic animals in North Maluku.
Image Hosting
White cockatoo

White Cockatoo or in scientific name Cacatua alba is a medium-sized bird, with a length of about 46cm, of the genus Cacatua.

This bird is almost all white fur. On his head there is a large white plume that can be enforced. Flight feathers and tail are yellow. The female bird is similar to the male bird.

This white cockatoo habitat in North Maluku Islands. This species is found only in primary and secondary forests of the island of Halmahera, Ternate, Tidore, Kasiruta, Mandiole and Bacan.

Based on the loss of forest habitat and illegal arrests which continued to trade, as well as areas where the birds are found very limited, the White Cockatoo evaluated as Vulnerable on the IUCN Red List. The species is listed in CITES Appendix II.

Monday, December 28, 2009

West Sulawesi

Image Hosting
Formerly named Provincial Mandar.

Data and Statistics

West Sulawesi is a division of the province of South Sulawesi province. Province which was established on October 5, 2004 is based on Law No. 26 of 2004. Capital is Mamuju. The total area of approximately 16,796.19 km ². and consists of Tribal Mandar (49.15%), Toraja (13.95%), Bugis (10.79%), Java (5.38%), Makassar (1.59%) and others (19.15% .) Provincial Data

Image Hosting

Geographically located in the northern region bordering the province of South Sulawesi and Central Sulawesi province, on the south bordering the Flores Sea. Number of population of 1,070,475 inhabitants spread over 5 districts.

This province was formed on the basis of the spirit "in Allamungan Stone Luyo" Mandar binding in the union "Pitu Pitu Ba'bana Binanga and Ulunna Salu" in a conference that gave birth to "Sipamandar" (mutually reinforcing) to cooperate in building the Mandar.

From this spirit that around the year 1960 by Manda community leaders in Makassar as follows: H. A. Depu, Abd. Rahman Tamma, Captain Amir, H. A. Malik, Baharuddin Lopa, SH. and Abd. Rauf sparked the idea to establish or Mandar province now known as West Sulawesi.

Sunday, December 27, 2009


Image Hosting
Maluku islands known as the producer of sago.

Data and Statistics
Image Hosting
Beaches of the Moluccas.

This province is located at 5 ° N - 8 ° 20 'S and 124 ° - 135 ° East. In the north bordering the North Maluku province. On the south by the State Tilor Leste and Australia. To the west is bordered by Province Southeast Sulawesi and Central Sulawesi. In the east the province of Irian Jaya.

Maluku archipelago made up of known as the Moluccas. Consists of 7 districts and 1 city. Two days after the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of Indonesia, the Moluccas declared as a province of the Republic of Indonesia. However, the formation and position of Maluku province when it was forced to do in Jakarta, because immediately after the Japanese surrender, the Netherlands (NICA) directly into the Moluccas and revive colonial system of government in the Moluccas.

Image Hosting
Seram Island, Maluku.

The language used in the province of Maluku is used is Language Melayu Ambon, which is one of dialect of Malays. Before the Portuguese visit Ternate (Year 1512), Malays have no language in Maluku and used as the language of trade. The Indonesian language standard, as in other areas of the Republic of Indonesia, is used in formal situations, or in other words in a formal context, such as in schools and in government offices.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Nusa Tenggara Timur (East Nusa Tenggara)

Image Hosting
Known as the Komodo Island.

Data and Statistics
Image Hosting
Komodo Beach

This province consists of approximately 550 islands, three main islands in NTT are Flores, Sumba and West Timor.

West Nusa Tenggara Province is part of the Nusa Tenggara Islands. The north is bordered by Flores Sea, east by Arafuru Sea, southern Indian Ocean and west by Sape Strait.

The population in this province is 4,448,873 inhabitants in which the male population of 2,213,608 inhabitants and a population of 2,235,265 inhabitants of women (2007) (BPS NTT).

Most of the population are Christians with the percentage of ± 89% (majority Catholic), ± 9% Muslim, 0.2% ± Hindus or Buddhists, and ± 3% for others. East Nusa Tenggara became a refuge for the Christians in Indonesia who distanced themselves from the religious conflicts in Maluku and Irian Jaya.

Friday, December 18, 2009

Nusa Tenggara Barat (West Nusa Tenggara)

Mataram, the largest city on the island of Lombok and the capital of West Nusa Tenggara province.
Image Hosting

Data and Statistics
Image Hosting
Mount Rinjani

The two largest islands in this province is located in Lombok and Sumbawa West located in the east. This provincial capital is the city of Mataram in Lombok Island.

Most of the population of the tribe of Lombok Sasak, while the tribe Bima and Sumbawa are the largest ethnic group in the island of Sumbawa. The majority of West Nusa Tenggara Muslim (96%).

The capital of Mataram
Governor M. Zainul Majdi
Size 19,708.79 km ²
Population 4,015,102

District 7
Municipality / City 2
Sub 94
Sub-District 762
Tribe Tribe Sasak, Sumbawa Tribe, Tribal Mbojo
Religion Islam (96%), Hindu (3%), Buddhists (1%)
Indonesian, Sasak
PST time zone
Songs Orlen-orlen

Thursday, December 17, 2009

North Maluku

Image Hosting
Known as the pearl producer in Indonesia.

Data and Statistics
Image Hosting
Tidore, North Maluku. Photo: Achmad Rabin Taim /

Provincial commonly abbreviated as Malut consists of several islands in the Maluku Islands consists of 395 small and large islands. The island is inhabited by as many as 64 pieces, which as many as 331 uninhabited islands.

This area was originally the former four regions largest Islamic empire in the eastern archipelago, known as the Sultanate of Kieraha Moloku (Sultanate of Four Mountains in Maluku).

Regional languages in various North Maluku Islands, at least 29 local languages, and for the island territory - the western part of Halmahera island is not included in the Melayu language family.